you're reading...

What do you eat when you are in remission from an eating disorder?

The answer: food.

I’ve tried ever restrictive diet out there: vegetarian, vegan, paleo, ‘whole foods 30’, gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, low-carb.

You know what they all had in common? They were love-free.

Now I eat food. I eat things that strike my fancy. Some days I drink juice, other days I don’t. I eat more than I used to. This alarms people who are convinced I’m going to become ‘morbidly obese’.

You know what’s funny? My weight has been rock steady for a year and a half since I began recovery. Before my weight would fluctuate 20 lbs up or down, depending on what intense exercise and diet regime I had adopted. Now my weight is steady. I eat when my body wants food. I’m losing fat and gradually gaining muscle. But the scale isn’t shifting. Because this is where my body wants to be and I finally understand that I should respect that.

So eat food. Eat things prepared with love. Just make sure you are eating enough to fuel holistic well-being. (I call this ‘intuitive health’ — learning to listen to your body’s cues). The rest will fall into place.



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

